Rutgers Parent and Family Orientation

20160923-DSC06687-5

Parent & Family Orientation

Parent and Family Orientation is an optional one day program geared towards meeting the needs of our incoming students’ families. We strive to not only answer questions and provide guidance but to connect family members with key resources in our Rutgers community.

Presentation on finances, health and wellness and safety are coupled with sessions featuring current students. These sessions will familiarize you with university resources and help provide guidance on what your students will go through during their time as a Rutgers student.

Lastly, we will provide tips that we believe will help you be a partner alongside Rutgers in supporting your students’ academic and social success.

You can purchase tickets to Summer Orientation here.

 

Summer 2019 Dates

Monday, June 17

Thursday, June 20

Monday, June 24

Wednesday, June 26 (Out of State Only)

Monday, July 1

Monday, July 8 (Honors College Only)

Thursday, July 11

Monday, July 15

Thursday, July 18

Monday, July 22

Monday, July 29

Thursday, August 1

Monday, August 5

Thursday, August 8

Wednesday, August 28

Wednesday, July 10

Wednesday, July 24

Thursday, July 25

Wednesday, August 7

The following sessions have been designed to accommodate parent and family members who cannot attend a daytime program.  Our evening sessions run from 4-9pm.

Wednesday, July 17

Wednesday, July 31

Frequently Asked Questions

Do I Have To Attend A Parent and Family Program?

Parent and Family Orientation is an optional one day program for parent and family members who wish to connect and network with fellow family members while also getting information from various university departments and offices.

Do I Have To Pay To Attend?

Yes. Tickets for Parent and Family Orientation are $20 per person when purchased in advance.  The ticket price includes refreshments, lunch, and Parent and Family promotional items.

Can I Go To Any Parent and Family Orientation Program?

Yes. However, certain sessions are geared toward the parents and families of particular students (for example transfer parent and family programs and international parent programs)

I Can’t Go During The Day. Are There Any Programs At Night?

Yes. There are two evening programs for parents and families who can’t be with us during the day. Space is limited so please register as soon as possible using the button on this page.

How long is Parent and Family Orientation?

Parent and Family Orientation is a daylong experience. The program begins at 8:15am and ends at 5pm (with the exception of our evening programs which run from 4pm-9pm).

If I purchased 2 tickets for Parent and Family Orientation, why do both tickets list my name and not name of the second attendee?

While both tickets will list the name of the purchaser, each ticket has a unique barcode for each guest that you purchased a ticket for.

Need a Hotel?

Some hotels have special rates for Orientation guests.  Click here for the full listing of local accomodations.